‘serious men’

I liked Manu Joseph even before I read his book. When I did, I realised that it has been long since I so thoroughly enjoyed a book. For its sheer literary craft, its unlikely protagonist, unlikelier story, its deeply perceptive reading of Indian society and its deadpan humour, Serious Men deserves serious readership.

It might not sit well with you if you take caste affiliations seriously. But if you care for a good story, well told, I highly recommend this book. Next on the wishlist is his latest, The Illicit Happiness of Other People.

Leave a Reply

