zindagi in dabba

Dilo mein tum apni betabiyan le ke chal rahe ho toh zinda ho tum

Nazar mein khwabo ki bijliyan le ke chal rahe ho toh zinda ho tum

Hawan ke jhoko ke jaise aazad rehna seekho

Tum ek dariya ke jaise lehro mein behna seekho

Har ek lamhe se tum milo kholein apni bahein

Har ek pal ek naya sama dekhe ye nigahe

Jo apni aakhon mein hairaniya le ke chal rahe ho toh zinda ho tum

Dilo mein tum apni betabiyan le ke chal rahe ho… toh zinda ho tum

 

 

It’s been long since I went in to watch a movie without any expectations from it. Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara pleasantly surprised me. Yes, the standard criticisms about it being bourgeois, the chemistry being rehearsed, the plot being conveniently simplified all stand. But, what can I say, I liked it! Unexpectedly so, and maybe that’s what’s so nice.

 

The poems, like this one, are so apt, simple and beautiful. I was smiling when Farhan Akhtar voiced-over the poetry by Javed Akhtar at crucial junctions in the film. Watch this one, it’s worth one’s time and one time’s money.

 

On another note, the reduced posting frequency here can be explained by work by the truckloads at TISS and the fact that I don’t have an internet connection at home since no internet provider wants to come to where I live. Free internet in the library is the only solace. I’m not bothered.

15 thoughts on “zindagi in dabba

  1. Glad you watched it! I was pleasantly surprised by the film too, and some of the poetry was lovely. I need to write some of it down, now that I’ve seen it in writing.I have an inconsequential doubt, though – do you also believe Naseer was smoking a real joint?

  2. @vini: I don't believe anything. I know he is capable of smoking a real joint, but it could just as well be a rolled cigarette. It's common in Europe for men to roll their own cigarettes. Maybe it's nicer to believe that he was smoking weed.

  3. Why wouldn’t Naseer smoke a real joint? Has he issued statements saying he doesn’t or something?I watched it today. I really liked the poetry too. I’m not well versed with hindi poetry, but I really liked what I heard.

  4. What I meant was, it’s interesting if he is, because our Censor Board has had problems with inane stuff before, so it’s wondrous if they passed this.

  5. Censor has had problems with showing smoking of any sort in the past. I think they've grown out of it. After all, how is selling hyper-sexualized sleaze shows any better than showing a man smoke on screen?

Leave a Reply

